1. Auto-Insurance-1

    Bulletin Number 2023-01 - FY23's Uninsured Motorist Distribution -Based on FY 2022's Share

    South Carolina law provides that South Carolina drivers seeking to drive uninsured must pay annually a fee of $550 for the privilege of operating an uninsured vehicle on South Carolina highways or a $300 reinstatement fee. Additional Info...
  2. Close  up image of a $100 bill.

    South Carolina Policyholders Receive Over $10 Million with Help From the SCDOI

    In 2022, the SCDOI recovered over $10 million for consumers by resolving 4,501 insurance-related complaints. This dollar amount represents claim payments made to consumers after filing a complaint with the SCDOI that would not have been made otherwise. Additional Info...
  3. Palm Tree Yellow

    Order Number 2022-05 - Self-Funded Rates for the Workers’ Compensation Assigned Risk Plan

    The SCDOI has issued Order Number 2022-05: Self-Funded Rates for the Workers’ Compensation Assigned Risk Plan Additional Info...
  4. 14

    Crackdown on Shady Bail Bond Activities

    The SCDOI has issued an order designed to crack down on bail bondsmen who fail to report a criminal defendant’s non-compliance with court-ordered bond conditions. Additional Info...