What are the requirements to become licensed as a bail bondsman in South Carolina?
An applicant must be 18 years old or older, a resident of South Carolina, and a person of good moral character who has not been convicted of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude within the last 10 years, has knowledge, training, or experience of sufficient duration and extent to satisfy reasonably the director of insurance that he or she possesses the competence necessary to fulfill the responsibilities of a licensee. (South Carolina Code Section 38-53-90)

Bail Bondsman - License Information

Show All Answers

1. What are the types of bail bondsmen licensed in South Carolina?
2. What are the requirements to become licensed as a bail bondsman in South Carolina?
3. Can I become a bondsman without obtaining a license from the Department of Insurance?
4. What is the fee for a bondsman license?
5. Can a person be licensed as both a professional bondsman and a surety bondsman?
6. When does a bondsman / runner license expire?
7. What is the total number of educational hours required for a professional bondsman, surety bondsman, and runner to retain their license?