MEMORANDUM

TO: All Insurers Licensed to Conduct Business within the State of South Carolina
FROM: The South Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of Taxation

Subject: Annual Online Premium Tax Application

DATE: January 19, 2016

The purpose of this memorandum is to inform insurers of the opening date of the Annual Online Premium
Tax Application.

OPENING DATE:
The Annual Online Tax Application will open February 1, 2016. Please be aware that annual tax returns and

all required supporting documentation are due to the South Carolina Department of Insurance (Department)
on or before March 1, 2016.

All insurers must have their user ID and passwords available to log into the tax application. Questions
regarding user ID’s should be e-mailed to IRMMail@doi.sc.gov. Authorized users must ensure that they
enable JavaScript for their browsers before logging into the tax application.

INSURER COMPLIANCE:

All insurers including Risk Retention Groups, Health Maintenance Organization and Captive Insurance
Companies must file their Premium Tax Returns using the electronic tax filing application and pay fees with
the Department by March 1, 2016. Tax returns must be filed by the due date even if no business was written
in the state during 2015. Failure to comply constitutes a violation of the South Carolina insurance laws and
could result in the imposition of an administrative fine of up to $30,000.00. Please refer to S.C. Code Ann.
Section 38-2-10 and 38-5-130.

BIENNIAL LICENSE FEE:
The Department will collect Biennial License Fees from insurers on March 1, 2016.

BIENNIAL FIXED LICENSE FEE:
The Department will collect Biennial Fixed License Fees from insurers on March 1, 2016.

SCHEDULE O8 — DISTRIBUTION OF FIRE PREMIUMS:
Property and Casualty insurers that distribute fire premiums to corresponding counties will have the option

of uploading an Excel spreadsheet in the Department’s format which will be automatically populated into
Schedule 08.

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION:
Insurers are required to upload all required documentation. Tax filings will not be considered completed
unless all required documentation is received by March 1, 2016.

The system will generate a Document Checklist which will contain the required documents that must be
provided to the Department. Authorized users must submit all Required Documents via the “Document
Upload” feature of the tax application.
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REFERENCE LIST:

A Reference List has been compiled to assist insurers in reporting 2015 premium writings for lines of
businesses that are not addressed on Schedule 04. Insurers will no longer list write-ins under Details of line
98.00 — All Other Lines. If the line of business is not shown on the Reference List, please contact
Taxation@doi.sc.gov. (Please refer to APPENDIX C)

PAYMENT OPTIONS:

Insurers will be able to pay their tax liability by credit card, electronic (ACH) or paper check. Any insurer
electing to pay by paper check must print the annual tax invoice and submit it along with the check. The check
amount must agree with the payment amount indicated on the invoice. If these amounts do not agree, the
payment will be returned. Please submit one check per company.

Please be reminded there is a cap on credit card payments. Any payments exceeding $99,999.00 cannot be
processed by the credit card vendor. If paying by credit card, a 1.7% processing fee plus a $1.00 portal fee
will be added to your tax payment.

Insurers paying by electronic (ACH) check that have blocks on their bank accounts should use the following
information to allow the Department to successfully debit their account:

¢ Trading Partner Originating Company Name: SC DEPT OF INS
e Trading Partner Originating Company ID: 5708824541

CONTACTS:
Questions pertaining to this memorandum should be directed to:
e Sharon Waddell at 803.737.4910 or swaddell@doi.sc.gov

e Gloria Akram at 803.737.6136 or gakram@doi.sc.gov
e Angela Davis at 803.737.6279 or adavis@doi.sc.gov
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ANNUAL COMPANY TAX INSTRUCTIONS:

1. Go to the South Carolina Department of Insurance Home Page at (www.doi.sc.gov or http://doi.sc.gov).
2. On the left side of the home page, click on “$ Online Services.”

3. Under the Registered Company Users heading scroll down to “File/Amend Annual Tax Return” and
click. Once the next page appears, enter your company’s user ID and password.

4. If a third party is processing your company taxes scroll down to “Company User Account Maintenance”
under the Registered Company Users heading and click. Once the next page appears enter your company’s
user ID and password and select “Add”. Enter the required information for the user and select “SAVE”.

5. Once you have successfully logged in, a WELCOME page appears. Click “File Annual Tax Return”.

6. The “Terms of Use” page will display next. After reading the Terms of Use screen click “l Agree”.

7. Once on the screen, the user will be able to enter all applicable tax data.

8. Follow the instructions on the screen(s) to process your fee and tax return.

9. Schedule 01 will be the last schedule shown. Please thoroughly review your company’s tax information.
10. You may elect to return to a previous screen by clicking “Previous.” If you click the next button, the
‘Document Upload’ will appear. Follow the instructions and proceed to upload all required documentation
listed in the Document Checklist. The next screen will be the Attestation Page.

11. Enter required information for the Attestation and click next.

12. If a tax payment is due an Invoice page will appear. You may pay by electronic (ACH) check, paper
check or credit card. If you elect to pay by paper check please print the invoice and remit the invoice with a
check made payable to the South Carolina Department of Insurance. Please remit one check per company
and be reminded that the check amount must agree with the invoice amount. If these amounts do not
agree, your payment will be rejected. If you elect to pay by electronic (ACH) check or credit card, click
‘Proceed to Payment’.

13. If you click “Proceed to Payment”, the electronic (ACH) payment or credit card screen payment screen
will appear. Enter all the required information and click Submit. It may take a few minutes before the
Confirmation Page appears.

14. Please print and keep the Confirmation Page as your receipt of payment. Please be sure to print a copy
of the Tax Return for your records.

15. If a refund is due or there is no tax liability, the application will generate a Confirmation Page indicating
such. Please print and keep this page for your records.
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APPENDIX B:
DOCUMENT CHECKLIST (REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION)

LIFE, ACCIDENT AND HEALTH INSURERS:

« Life and A&H Insurers must upload a copy of Schedule T and a copy of the South Carolina Business page
24 from the Annual Statement.

 Health Insurers must upload a copy of Schedule T and a copy of the South Carolina Business page 29 from
the Annual Statement.

« Foreign insurers must upload a separate worksheet showing rates, premium figures and calculations if
retaliatory taxes and obligations are reported on Schedule 02.

« All companies must upload documentation for all allowable credits reported on Schedule 06.

« Insurers who report South Carolina Life & Health Guaranty Association Tax Credit must upload a copy of
each Assessment Certificate to receive credit.

« Insurers who report South Carolina Health Insurance Pool Tax Credit must upload a copy of each
Assessment Certificate to receive credit.

PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURERS:

« Property and Casualty Insurers must upload a copy of Schedule T and a copy of the South Carolina
Business page 19 from the Annual Statement

« Title Insurers must upload a copy of Schedule T from the Annual Statement.

« Reciprocals Insurers must upload a copy of Schedule T and a copy of the South Carolina Business page 19
from the Annual Statement.

« Foreign insurers must upload a separate worksheet showing rates, premium figures and calculations if
retaliatory taxes and obligations are reported on Schedule 02.

* A copy of the Assessment Certificate is required for Second Injury Fund.

« All companies must upload documentation for all allowable credits reported on Schedule 06.

« Insurers who report South Carolina Life & Health Guaranty Association Tax Credit must upload a copy of
each Assessment Certificate to receive credit.

* Insurers who report South Carolina Health Insurance Pool Tax Credit must upload a copy of each
Assessment Certificate to receive credit.

FRATERNAL BENEFIT SOCIETIES:

« Fraternal must upload a copy of Schedule T and a copy of the South Carolina Business page 23 from the
Annual Statement

« Foreign insurers must upload a separate worksheet showing rates, premium figures and calculations if
retaliatory taxes and obligations are reported on Schedule 02.

COUNTY MUTUAL INSURERS:
» Companies must upload page 2 of their Annual Statement.

CAPTIVE INSURERS:

e Captive Insurers must upload copies of page 4 - Statement of Income and page 7 - Premium Schedule
from their annual report. If licensed as a Captive Risk Retention Group or as Special Purpose Financial
Captive, a copy of Schedule T from the Annual Statement must be uploaded.

HEALTH MAINTENANCE ORGANIZATIONS:
* No documentation required.



