South Carolina Nikki R. Haley

Governor

Department of Insurance

IMPORTANT NOTICE

TO: All Licensed Public Adjusters
FROM: Individual Licensing Division
SUBJECT: Mandatory Online Public Adjuster License Renewal

DATE: August 30, 2012

PUBLIC ADJUSTER LICENSE RENEWAL
OCTOBER 1-31, 2012

Please be advised that public adjuster license renewal will begin on October 1 and end on October 31. To
complete the renewal process, all licensed Public Adjusters must complete an online renewal application and
pay a licensing renewal fee.

PUBLIC ADJUSTER LICENSE FEES

The following fee schedule is applicable:

e The renewal license fee for all resident Public Adjusters is $80.

o Therenewal license fee for all nonresident Public Adjusters will depend on the amount charged by
the home state, subject to an $80.00 minimum. If the home state does not require licensure as a
Public Adjuster, then an $80 license fee would be due. Non-Resident Public Adjusters are not
reguired to submit a Letter of Certification.

PENALTY PROVISION

South Carolina Code Section 38-47-40 provides that if the license fee is not received when due, the license
must be canceled. However, if the Public Adjuster license is canceled, a new application would be required,
and payment of a penalty fee double the regular fee must be paid before the license can be reinstated.
Therefore, if you allow your license to cancel, the following penalty fee would be applicable:

e Aresident Public Adjuster’s reinstatement fee of $80 would be due in addition to the $80 renewal fee
for a total of $160.

e Anonresident Public Adjuster’s reinstatement fee would be double the retaliatory fee if in excess of
$80. Example, if your home state charges a $100 fee for a Public Adjuster’s license, a $100 penalty
fee would be due in addition to the $100 regular license fee for a total of $200.




If you would like to be notified via email about matters affecting your license (renewal, CE
requirements, change of status, etc), please subscribe by going to our Home page http://doi.sc.gov. On
the left side of the Home page click on “Email Notification Subscription” menu.

PUBLIC ADJUSTER RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS ARE AS FOLLOWS:

Public Adjuster Renewal: Two Options for renewal will be available:

Renewal notices will be mailed to Public Adjusters in August 2012 to the address on record with the South
Carolina Department of Insurance. Paper applications will not be accepted. Renewal begins on October
1, 2012 and ends on October 31, 2012.

RENEWAL OPTION 1:

Go online to renew on the Department’s website.

Go to the Department’'s home page (www.doi.sc.gov).

At the top of the home page, click on “SCDOI Online Services.”

Under the General Public heading scroll down to “Renew Individual License.”

Enter your social security number and birth date information.

Choose the License you are renewing.

Follow the instructions on the screen.

Select payment option.

Once the renewal is completed, a confirmation page will be displayed. Please print and keep this page
as your receipt.
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Fees may be paid by electronic check, or by credit card. If paid by credit card, a processing fee and a
$1.00 portal fee will be added to the license renewal fee.

RENEWAL OPTION 2:

Go online to renew at: www.nipr.com.

Follow NIPR’s online instructions.

Individuals renewing through NIPR must pay a $5 renewal transaction fee in addition to the license fee.
Once the online renewal is completed, NIPR will send an email confirming that the renewal has been
accepted. Please keep NIPR’s email as your receipt. Do not send verification to the Department.
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A paper application may be downloaded from the Department’s website on the public adjuster page at
http://doi.sc.gov/Documents/Licensing/Public%20Adjuster%20Renewal%20Application.pdf.

TO CHECK THE STATUS OF YOUR RENEWAL, DO THE FOLLOWING:

Go to the Department’s home page (www.doi.sc.gov)

On the left side of the screen, click on the “SC LICENSEE LOOK UP” button.

Click Search for individuals.

Key in your license number OR your last and first name.

When the next screen displays, click on the individual's name.

Scroll down to license type and click. Your renewal status will be reflected on the next page.

ourwNE

For your review, a paper renewal application can be obtained from the Department’s website at
http://doi.sc.gov/Documents/Licensing/Public%20Adjuster%20Renewal%20Application.pdf.

If you have any questions, please contact the Office of Individual Licensing by email at agntmail@doi.sc.gov.
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