Surplus Lines Broker

Title 38, Chapter 45 of the South Carolina Code of Laws details the regulations and requirements for brokers and surplus lines insurance. 

Resident Surplus Lines Brokers
  • Complete the Application for Brokers, Form 3520.
  • Pay the biennial license fee of $200. The fee is not pro-rated and is non-refundable and non-transferable.
  • Complete the $10,000 Surety Bond, Form 3535.
  • Submit the exam report from PSI. Contact PSI directly at 800-733-9267 or online to register for the state licensing examination. The exam report expires 12 months after the date of issuance. View exam content outlines.
     
Only individuals may be licensed as brokers in South Carolina.  
 
Non-Resident Surplus Lines Brokers
  • Complete the Application for Brokers, Form 3520.
  • Pay the biennial license fee of $200. The fee is not pro-rated and is non-refundable and non-transferable. Fees are retaliatory under South Carolina law.
  • Submit a letter of certification. If the license status cannot be verified on the State Producer Licensing Database (SPLD), certification from the applicant's home state will be required. The certification, less than 90 days old, must indicate that the applicant is licensed as a surplus lines broker.

Non-Resident General Information
  • Only individuals may be licensed as brokers in South Carolina.
  • Brokers representing brokerage firms or agencies must secure an agency license issued by this department.
  • South Carolina law provides that no individual shall be licensed as an insurance broker unless they are licensed as a broker in their home state.
Please do not submit any highlighted documents to our office as they may be returned.

Contact Us

  1. Contact Info
    Email

    Ph: 803-737-6095
    Ph: 803-737-6193


  2. Fax: 803-737-6100