The following are requirements to become a resident adjuster:
The following are requirements to become a non-resident adjuster:
*BULLETIN 2017-10 (Hurricane Irma - Emergency Adjusters)
Appointment & Application
The South Carolina Department of Insurance coordinates recovery efforts with the state's Adjutant General's Emergency Preparedness Program. If South Carolina incurs damages from a natural disaster requiring the entry of unlicensed non-resident emergency adjusters, the Director will issue a bulletin outlining the emergency adjuster procedures that must be followed before deploying emergency adjusters into our state.
Once the Director of Insurance has declared that the use of temporary, non-resident adjusters may be necessary, insurers may immediately appoint emergency adjusters without them first being authorized by the Department. Before appointing emergency adjusters, however, insurers must first utilize licensed resident and non-resident South Carolina adjusters to their fullest extent in handling catastrophe claims.
Insurers must complete the SCDOI Emergency Adjuster template (fillable spreadsheet) and attach to an email to email@example.com. The following forms should be used to complete this process:
The initial emergency adjuster appointment may not exceed 120 days from the date of the initial appointment. If an extension is granted, the system will allow users to reprint the reentry permits with a new expiration date.
For motor vehicle physical damage appraiser information, please visit our Emergency Appraiser's page.
SLED Report Requirements
Several licensing applications require a South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) report. The SLED report must be no more than three months old when it is submitted to the South Carolina Department of Insurance.
A SLED report can be obtained by either submitting a written request to SLED or through their website. A stamped, self-addressed envelope must be submitted to SLED if obtaining a report through a written request. The fee for the report is $25 and must be paid by a company check or money order only.
The applicant may select to have our office pull their SLED report when completing the online application. The fee to pull a SLED report online is $26.
Please do not send the South Carolina Department of Insurance information to SLED! The documentation will not be forwarded to the South Carolina Department of Insurance from SLED.
Effective November 2, 2015, the fee to pull an online SLED report will increase to $26 which will include the $25 SLED fee plus a $1 convenience fee.